lojra falas online


Hard Drive , Flash Drive -> Memory Storage Converter


Byte KByte MByte GByte Converter

Have you ever been confused about the number of kilobytes in a megabyte on your Hard Drive or flash drive, or in a gigabyte or vice-versa? Now you can convert among bytes and kilobytes and megabytes and gigabytes with ease.

Byte Kilobyte Megabyte Gigabyte


Some Information

byte (pronounced "bite", IPA: /bait/) is a unit of measurement of information storage, most often consisting of eight bits. In many computer architectures it is a unit of memory addressing.

Originally, a byte was a small group of bits of a size convenient for data such as a single character from a Western character set. Its size was generally determined by the number of possible characters in the supported character set and was chosen to be a submultiple of the computer's word size; historically, bytes have ranged from five to twelve bits. The popularity of IBM's System/360 architecture starting in the 1960s and the explosion of microcomputers based on 8-bit microprocessors in the 1980s has made eight bits by far the most common size for a byte. The term octet is widely used as a more precise synonym where ambiguity is undesirable (for example, in protocol definitions).

There has been considerable confusion about the meanings of SI prefixes used with the word "byte", such as kilo- (k or K) and mega- (M), as shown in the chart Quantities of bytes. Since computer memory comes in powers of 2 rather than 10, the industry used binary estimates of the SI-prefixed quantities. Because of the confusion, a contract specifying a quantity of bytes must define what the prefixes mean in terms of the contract (i.e., the alternative binary equivalents or the actual decimal values, or a binary estimate based on the actual values).

A byte is one of the basic integral data types in some programming languages, especially system programming languages.

Names for different units

The prefixes used for byte measurements are usually the same as the SI prefixes used for other measurements, but have slightly different values. The former are based on powers of 1,024 (210), a convenient binary number, while the SI prefixes are based on powers of 1,000 (103), a convenient decimal number. The table below illustrates these differences. See binary prefix for further discussion.



ADVANCED Memory Converter

To use this advanced memory converter you need to have the Javascript enabled in your browser.

This converter will convert bits, bytes, kilobytes, megabytes, gigabytes, terabytes, petabytes, exabytes, zettabytes and yottabytes to all values in every designation. To use the memory and storage converter, input any whole number into any one of the scale boxes. Click on the Calculate button and the values for the other designations will appear in the appropriate boxes.

Designation Input Value To Convert
Or Calculated Result Value
Bits: 8 bits = 1 byte
Bytes: 1024 bytes = 1 KB (1 to 3 digits)
Kilobytes: 1024 KB = 1 MB (4 to 6 digits)
Megabytes: 1024 MB = 1 GB (7 to 9 digits)
Gigabytes: 1024 GB = 1 TB (10 to 12 digits)
Terabytes: 1024 TB = 1 PB (13 to 15 digits)
Petabytes: 1024 PB = 1 EB (16 to 18 digits)
Exabytes: 1024 EB = 1 ZB (19 to 21 digits)
Zettabytes: 1024 ZB = 1 YB (22 to 24 digits)
Yottabytes: more than enough... (25 to 27 digits)